2016 was a year to be proud of here at CFANY. Despite contending with something of a transitional, rebuilding period, net income rose by close to $700,000 (total revenue is about $4.5 million), assets rose from $7.5 million to $8.6 million and our membership total spiked by more than 2,000.

Still, there is always more work to do and plenty of room for improvement. Fortunately, we are confident that 2016 merely marked the beginning—and a huge first step—toward growing this society for years to come.

We owe a huge part of our exciting success and growth to the recipients of the 2016 CFANY Volunteer and Industry Recognition Award winners, below:
For a full list of award winners, full biographies and award descriptions, click here.

Irving Khan Lifetime Achievement Award

Jae Yoon, CFA, is Chief Investment Officer of New York Life Investment Management, which he joined as a managing director in 2005. Mr. Yoon earned his master’s degree in Operations Research and bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering from Cornell University. Mr. Yoon is a holds FINRA Series 3 and 7 registrations.

Benjamin Graham Distinguished Service Award

Thomas Brigandi is an associate analyst in the Global Project and Infrastructure Finance Group at Moody’s, where he covers public power, power generation projects, toll-roads, airports, ports, project finance and public-private partnerships, across the Americas. Brigandi has organized 40 CFANY conferences that were attended by over 5,000 investment professionals and has cultivated personal relationships with thousands of asset owner, buy-side & sell-side investment professionals globally.

Volunteer of the Year Award

Deepika Sharma, CFA, is a Portfolio Manager/Analyst at Astor Investment Management, a $2bn asset management firm, where she co-manages the multi-asset portfolios and sector rotation fund and sits on the Investment Committee. Deepika completed her Masters in International Finance at the School of International and Public Affairs at Columbia University and holds FINRA licenses 3 and 65.

Maria Weitzer, CFA, is Director, Portfolio Management at TAG Associates LLC, a leading multi-client family office and portfolio management services firm with more than $8 billion of assets under management. Maria is responsible for analyzing and recommending publicly-traded equity and fixed-income strategies and is a member of TAG’s Investment Committee.

Michael Weinberg, CFA, is the Chief Investment Strategist at Protege Partners, where he is a Senior Managing Director, and on the investment, risk and management committees. He has a BS from New York University, an MBA from Columbia Business School and is a CFA.

Young Investment Professional Award

Evelyn Yeow, CFA, is a lead investment analyst covering China at John Hsu Capital Group, where she works directly with the Chief Investment Officer on China equity investing for the firm’s Dedicated China, Global, and International strategies. She serves as the outreach coordinator of the Global Investing Committee at CFANY. She graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Mathematics from Baruch College, City University of New York.

Asset Owner Series Award

Evelyn Yeow, CFA
Deepika Sharma, CFA
Maria Weitzer, CFA
Danye Wang , CFA
Jae Yoon, CFA
Michael Weinberg, CFA
Roberto Peralta, CFA 
Alan Fields, CFA, CAIA, CPA
Anthony Thai, CFA
Thomas Brigandi

The CFANY Asset Owner Series is a collection of exclusive events for investment industry executives looking to improve their asset management strategies and advance their market knowledge with the guidance of some of the most experienced minds CFANY has to offer. Since the beginning of 2016, CFANY’s Asset Owner Series has hosted asset owner CIOs, Deputy CIOs, and other asset owner senior executives who collectively and directly oversee north of $10 trillion in assets, in addition to featuring senior representatives from institutional investment consulting firms who collectively advise on over $16.5 trillion.

The Series was founded by CFANY’s 2016 Benjamin Graham Distinguished Service Award recipient, 2015 Volunteer of the Year and 2013 Young Investment Professional Award recipient, Thomas Brigandi, in collaboration with a team of over 100 industry leaders who source speakers from their respective networks on behalf of the Society.